Prime Minister of Malaysia

The Prime Minister of Malaysia (Malay:Perdana Menteri) is the indirectly elected head of goverment of Malaysia. He is formally appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the head of state, and is invariably the leader of the largest party in the House of Representatives, the elected lower house of Parliament. He heads the Cabinet, whose members are appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on the prime minister’s advice. The prime minister has been from the United Malays National Organisation since independence. It is the largest component party of the National Front (known as the Alliance Party until the 1969 general election).

The incumbent prime minister is Najib Tun Razak, who succeeded Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on 3 April 2009.


About this entry