Tun Abd Razak bin Hussein Al-Haj (March 11, 1922-January 14, 1976) was the second Prime Minister of Malaysia, ruling from 1970 to 1976).

Tun Razak was the Prime Minister responsible in setting up Barisan Nasional, which is the ruling coalition of political parties that have held power in Malaysia till today, taking over from its predecesor, the Alliance. He is also renowned for launching the Malaysia New Economic Policy (MNEP)

Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun
Tun Abd Razak

Prime Minister of Malaysia
In office
22 September 1970 – 14 January 1976
Monarch Abdul Halim
Yahya Petra
Deputy Ismail Abdul Rahman
Hussein Onn
Preceded by Abdul Rahman
Succeeded by Hussein Onn

Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia
In office
31 August 1957 – 22 September 1970
Prime Minister Abdul Rahman
Preceded by Office established
Succeeded by Ismail Abdul Rahman

Born 11 March 1922(1922-03-11)
Pekan, Pahang, British Malaya
Died 14 January 1976 (aged 53)
London, England, United Kingdom
Political party United Malays National Organisation-National Front
Spouse(s) Rahah Noah
Alma mater Malay College Kuala Kangsar
Raffles College
Occupation Lawyer
Religion Islam

About this entry