Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun
Mahathir bin Mohamad

Prime Minister of Malaysia
In office
16 July 1981 – 31 October 2003
Monarch Ahmad Shah
Azlan Shah
Mizan Zainal Abidin (Regent)
Deputy Musa Hitam
Ghafar Baba
Anwar Ibrahim
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi
Preceded by Hussein Onn
Succeeded by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia
In office
15 September 1978 – 16 July 1981
Prime Minister Hussein Onn
Preceded by Hussein Onn
Succeeded by Musa Hitam

21st Secretary General of Non-Aligned Movement
In office
25 February 2003 – 31 October 2003.
Preceded by Thabo Mbeki
Succeeded by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Born 10 July 1925 (1925-07-10) (age 84)
Alor Star, Kedah, British Malaya
Political party United Malays National Organisation-National Front
Spouse(s) Siti Hasmah
Profession Doctor of Medicine
Religion Islam
Website [1]

Tun Mahathir bin Mohamad (pronounced [maˈhatir bin moˈhamat̚]; born July 10, 1925) is a retired Malaysian political figure. He was the fourth Prime Minister of Malaysia. He held the post for 22 years from 1981 to 2003, making him Malaysia’s longest-serving Prime Minister, and one of the longest-serving leaders in Asia.[1] During his term in office, he was credited for engineering Malaysia’s rapid modernisation.[2] Mahathir is also known for his criticisms towards western and developed countries.[3]

During his administration, he was considered to be one of Asia’s most influential leaders.[4] Mahathir is also noted in the Western world as an outspoken critic of Western-style globalization.


About this entry